LINUX.ORG.RU

Использование SNMP

Hi,

I have a couple of questions regarding SNMP protocol usage. I am new in SNMP and probably answers for some questions are straightforward.

Some details before: We developed a system which consists of a number of software servers that run on a number of networked hosts. Software servers deal with the hardware components (it is a softswitch system). We used TAO ORB implementation as a middleware for communication between these servers.

Currently we are working on the design of the Configuration and Management Interface for our system and are considering SNMP mechanism for it's implementation.

Required functions for the system:

The Configuration and Management Interface should provide at least the following functions: 1. start/shutdown of the software server on the selected host 2. checking of the live state of the server 3. a mechanism of control for the sofware servers, for example -sending a command to the server that it should reread it's configuration file 4. a mechanism of statistics gathering from the sofware servers (suppose that this function is a variant of function number 3), for example - a number of sessions that are handled by this server currently and information regarding every session that works currently on this server.

After some reading of SNMP docs I suppose that this can be accomplished as follows. 1. SNMP Agent on every host that performs functions number 1 and number 2 2. SNMP subAgent (embedded into any software server) that accomplishes functions number 3 and number 4

SNMP Agent and SNMP subAgents interact by mean of AgentX protocol. All these things (and hardware as well) can be managed by the standard SNMP manager.